Founders Cup, 17 June 2018

After a very successful Wicklow 200 last weekend (and once again thanks to everyone who turned out to help), Sunday racing resumes this week in Summerhill with the prestigious Founders Cup to be competed for.

The Founders Cup was donated by the original founding members of the IVCA, whose names are engraved on the cup: Phil Byrne, Des Troy, Tom Dempsey, E. Dunphy, Denis Goody, Donal O’Connell, Dick O’Brien, Fred Smith and Paddy McInerney.

Sean Lally holds the record for the most engravings as winner of the event!

The race is run each year in an Age Related format.  Riders are handicapped in 5-year age groups, with the oldest riders first away.  This race is not part of the Road Race League, but the competitive spirit will no doubt be as strong as ever.


You may also like...