Monthly Archive: September 2016

Cassidy best in Hill Climb

Ian Cassidy continued his excellent form in IVCA time trials this year with a thrilling victory in the Hill Climb on 2 October.  Paul Dolan set the standard with a blistering ride of 7 mins 28 secs for the 2.9 Km course.  This looked like it was good enough to seal the win, but Cassidy pulled out all the stops to record a time of 7 mins 27 secs – beating Dolan into second place by just 1 second!  Third fastest was Barry Swan, with a time of 7 mins 58 secs.

First prize on handicap went to Ciara Kinch who was one of the few riders to beat handicap on the day.  Second in this category was Jimmy Murphy, with John Dillon taking the prize for third on handicap.

Full results are below.

[gview file=””]

Sanyo Cup 2-up TT. 2016.

A lovely clear and calm morning when I left home at 0715 turned to a more normal wet and windy TT day by start time 🙁
Mick and Ciara got round the course in 49:23 just 58 seconds off estimated time to take the trophy with Mark and Ned in second 1:08 off estimated time and Eunan and Tom in third 1:14 off.
Nine pairings only today we suspect the All Ireland final might have had something to do with it. Fastest time 42:47 for Tony and Jonathan. Phil awards himself the booby prize for predicting last years finish time instead of actual. 12 seconds off estimate would have lifted the trophy. Sorry Billy, mea culpa. ;-(((  Even rebuilt my Marcello up for the team photo. Most of it is for sale if anyone interested.




Sanyo Cup, 2up TT. 18/09/2016.

Please note that an error on the TT calendar has been spotted.
The Sanyo Cup is this coming Sunday, 18th. HQ at the Warrenstown Inn car park. Sign on from 0830. First pair off at 0930. Start finish at the IVCA RR start finish line on the bypass to Dunshaughlin. TT distance 30 km.
The 25 / 50 options TT day is at Moy Valley, Mother Hubbards HQ, on the following Sunday 25th.
The season finale Hill Climb is at Kilmacanogue on Oct 2nd.
Sorry for any confusion,

Leisure League update

Two events have taken place in the the Dick O’Brien Leisure League since our last Leisure report in July.

In August, the iconic 100 in 8 took place in difficult and windy conditions.  See Tony Pearson’s report on this tour  below.

[gview file=””]

A clash with several other events on the Irish cycling calendar led to a very poor turn-out on the West Wicklow tour on 11th September.  Nonetheless, the bright, if breezy conditions led to spectacular views of Wicklow in all its glory in an experimental new route taking in Blessington Lakes and Slieve Coragh before heading into Dunlavin and back via Punchestown, Eadestown and Kilteel.  There were mixed views about the challenges of this new route, which might prompt a re-think for next year.  Many thanks to all who continue to support or help organise the Leisure tours. These tours were the foundations on which the IVCA was built many years ago.

New route, new start for West Wicklow

The West Wicklow 100k tour takes place next Sunday, 11th September, with a brand new route taking in Blessington Lakes, Hollywood, Dunlavin and back via Eadestown and Kilteel.  We will have the usual tea-stop in Dunlavin.

This event has traditionally been an opportunity for racing and non-racing members alike to wind-down at the end of the season.  The event is also open to non-IVCA members.

The course this year is slightly hillier than recent years, with a few stings towards the tail-end.

Due to the unavailability of the National Basketball Arena, this year’s event will start from the AstroPark on the Greenhills Road, Tallaght.  The AstroPark is close to the Cycle Superstore, as shown on this map

Sign-on is from 8.30 am, with a 9 am start.  Entry fee is €10.

Track Championships Programme Postponed by 24 hrs

Hi All

Due to the adverse weather forecast for Saturday we will postpone the entire national track championships programme by 24 hrs.
Sunday 4th Sept 8.30-9.20 open track
First rider off at 9.30am
Please note riders can choose to ride any event, you are not obliged to ride all events


Race Committee